D’Almeida, Lim victorious in recurve finals in Shanghai

Marcus D’Almeida stage winner of Shanghai 2023 Hyundai Archery World Cup.

Lim Sihyeon made a statement of intent with a debut victory in the recurve women’s individual at the second stage of the Hyundai Archery World Cup in Shanghai, China.

The Korean got the better of compatriot Kang Chae Young in a sensational final, to add individual gold to the team title she won alongside Kang earlier in the day

“It’s an honour to play the finals and win it,” said Lim. “Everything was perfect today – my technique, body condition and my aiming.”

She booked her place in the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final in the process.

In the all-Korean semifinals, Kang beat Olympic Champion An San 6-2, with Lim getting past number three seed Choi Misun by the same scoreline.

And the 19-year-old was simply unstoppable in the final, shooting 30, 29, 30 to beat number one seed Kang in nine arrows for the stage win.

Lim Sihyeon

The men’s final was a completely different affair, Brazil’s Marcus D’Almeida holding his nerve to secure the only non-Korean gold of the day.

A strong start from the Brazilian saw him race into a two-set lead, only for Korea’s Oh Jin Hyek to respond and draw level.

The number two seed did enough in the decider though, shooting 28 to his opponent’s 26 to take the win.

“It was a tough match, it was kind of up and down,” said D’Almeida. “I started well with a 30 but then couldn’t hold on to it, so I’m happy to win it finally.”

“Winning the gold was amazing, because I want to stay in the top of world rankings.”

With a place at the World Cup Final now secured, D’Almeida explained that he believes he can still improve on this performance ahead of Mexico.

In the bronze medal matches, An beat Choi in the all-Korean recurve women’s match-up, while Netherlands’ Steve Wijler beat China’s Li Zhongyuan.

The recurve finals session closed competition in Shanghai.

Podiums: Shanghai 2023

Check full results on the World Archery website.

Recurve women

  1. KOR flag Lim Sihyeon, Korea
  2. KOR flag Kang Chae Young, Korea
  3. KOR flag An San, Korea

Recurve men

  1. BRA flag Marcus D’Almeida, Brazil
  2. KOR flag Oh Jin Hyek, Korea
  3. NED flag Steve Wijler, Netherlands