World Archery releases shortlists for 2023 Athlete of the Year Awards

The 2023 World Archery Awards.

The nominees for the 2023 World Archery Awards have been announced.

There are shortlists for nine of the prizes including the six category trophies – for recurve men, recurve women, compound men, compound women, para men and para women – that will be open for public vote from 10 November to 10 December 2023.

The overall Athlete of the Year trophy, which was awarded for the first time in a decade last year, is decided by a panel of journalists.

Great Britain’s Ella Gibson received the principal honour in 2022 with Italian barebow archer Cinzia Noziglia the surprise runner-up. Olympic Champion An San and world para champion Matt Stutzman were among the other athletes to receive honours.

Included on the shortlists for 2023 are all four world champions – Mete Gazoz, Marie Horackova, Pravin Deotale and Aditi Swami – as well as India’s record-setting armless archer Sheetal Devi and first-year compound coach Sergio Pagni.

The winners will receive physical awards and be announced in early 2024.

Nominees: 2023 World Archery Awards

The overall trophy is awarded by open vote and there is no shortlist.




Recurve men*

Recurve women*

Compound men*

Compound women*

Para men*

Para women*

*Open for public vote at on 10 November 2023.

World Archery Award winners in 2022