Ana Vazquez to replace An San at 2021 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final

Ana Vazquez shoots during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Mexico’s Ana Vazquez will replace Olympic Champion An San of Korea in the line-up of the 2021 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final, which will take place at the end of September in Yankton, USA.

An San qualified as a wildcard by winning individual gold at Tokyo 2020.

Although she will compete at the Hyundai World Archery Championships in the same venue one week prior, An has opted to leave after that tournament with the rest of the Korean team.

“I appreciate very much the invitation, and I am so proud to be Olympic Champion. However, I didn’t shoot any stages of the World Cup, and I would like to give this spot to someone who did,” An said.

“After a very intense season, I’m excited to give my all at the world championships and then take a rest.”

Korea skipped the three stages of the Hyundai Archery World Cup this season, instead focusing on domestic preparations for the Games. No archer from the country would have qualified unless through the new Olympic route.

An’s withdrawal paves the way for the addition of Vazquez.

The 20-year-old Mexican archer finished in the top 10 at all three stages this year – and made the final four in Paris, just days after helping Mexico qualify a full women’s team quota for the Olympics.

She receives the spot as the archer in the next-highest position in the Hyundai Archery World Cup Rankings.

Yankton will be Vazquez’s debut at the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final.

Currently ranked 18th in the world, the runner-up at the under-21 world championships in 2019 recorded her first-ever individual podium at the senior level earlier this year when she took bronze at the Pan American Championships.

Her ticket for this year’s season-ending event is well-deserved.

The 2021 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final will take place mid-week on 29-30 September 2021.

Qualified Recurve men Recurve women Compound men Compound women
Stage winner
Atanu Das
IND flag India
Deepika Kumari
IND flag India
Braden Gellenthien
USA flag USA
Nora Valdez
COL flag Colombia
Stage winner
Brady Ellison
USA flag USA
Svetlana Gomboeva
RUS flag Russia
Mike Schloesser
NED flag Netherlands
Tanja Gellenthien
DEN flag Denmark
Stage winner
- - Abhishek Verma
IND flag India
Sara Lopez
COL flag Colombia
Olympic wildcard Mete Gazoz
TUR flag Turkey
- - -
Host country Jack Williams
USA flag USA
Casey Kaufhold
USA flag USA
- Savannah Vanderwier
USA flag USA
Points Nicholas D’Amour
ISV flag US Virgin Islands
Mackenzie Brown
USA flag USA
Kris Schaff
USA flag USA
Toja Ellison
SLO flag Slovenia
Points Mauro Nespoli
ITA flag Italy
Elena Osipova
RUS flag Russia
Federico Pagnoni
ITA flag Italy
Paige Pearce
USA flag USA
Points Max Weckmueller
GER flag Germany
Lisa Unruh
GER flag Germany
Adrien Gontier
FRA flag France
Andrea Becerra
MEX flag Mexico
Points Yun Sanchez
ESP flag Spain
Michelle Kroppen
GER flag Germany
Mathias Fullerton
DEN flag Denmark
Natalia Avdeeva
RUS flag Russia
Points - Ana Vazquez
MEX flag Mexico
Jozef Bosansky
SVK flag Slovakia