Line-up complete for 2022 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final

Mathias Fullerton shoots at the 2021 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final.

The 32-athlete line-up for the 2022 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final has been confirmed.

There is no change from the initial list of qualifiers, with the passing of the 31 August deadline for archers to decline their invitation, and Mexico named the four additions that would fill the host country spots earlier this week.

Included on the roster for Tlaxcala are reigning circuit champions in the compound categories, Sara Lopez and Mike Schloesser; two of the reigning world champions, Lopez and Kim Woojin; and the reigning Olympic Champions, Mete Gazoz and An San. This is An San’s first appearance at the season-ending event, having turned down her Olympic wildcard to last year’s finale.

One quarter (eight) of the archers who will appear have previously won an edition of the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final and they account for a combined 20 trophies.

Three of the four winners return from the last time the event was held in Mexico back in 2015: Lopez, Miguel Alvariño and Choi Misun.

Brady Ellison has an opportunity to draw level with Lopez on a record six circuit titles should he win in Tlaxcala and she fail to do so for the first time since 2013. (She also withdrew from the 2016 event – but won in 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020.)

The Hyundai Archery World Cup Final will take place on 15-16 October 2022 in Tlaxcala, Mexico.

Qualified Recurve men Recurve women Compound men Compound women
Stage winner (Antalya) Miguel Alvariño
ESP flag Spain
Bryony Pitman
GBR flag Great Britain
Mike Schloesser
NED flag Netherlands
Ella Gibson
GBR flag Great Britain
Stage winner (Gwangju) Kim Woojin
KOR flag Korea
Choi Misun
KOR flag Korea
- Kim Yunhee
KOR flag Korea
Stage winner (Paris) Marcus D’Almeida
BRA flag Brazil
Utano Agu
JPN flag Japan
Nicolas Girard
FRA flag France
Stage winner (Medellin) - An San
KOR flag Korea
James Lutz
USA flag USA
Host country Jesus Flores
MEX flag Mexico
Alejandra Valencia
MEX flag Mexico
Miguel Becerra
MEX flag Mexico
Andrea Becerra
MEX flag Mexico
Points Kim Je Deok
KOR flag Korea
Katharina Bauer
GER flag Germany
Mathias Fullerton
DEN flag Denmark
Sara Lopez
COL flag Colombia
Points Mauro Nespoli
ITA flag Italy
Kuo Tzu Ying
TPE flag Chinese Taipei
JP Boulch
FRA flag France
Alejandra Usquiano
COL flag Colombia
Points Mete Gazoz
TUR flag Türkiye
Peng Chia-Mao
TPE flag Chinese Taipei
Jean Pizarro
PUR flag Puerto Rico
Dafne Quintero
MEX flag Mexico
Points Brady Ellison
USA flag USA
- Braden Gellenthien
USA flag USA
Lisell Jaatma
EST flag Estonia
Points - - - Tanja Gellenthien
DEN flag Denmark

How do archers qualify?

There are normally three routes for archers to win a place at the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final.

The first is as a stage winner, with each individual gold medallist at an event on the circuit automatically booking a spot. The second is as a points qualifier, with at least three invites issued according to the highest-placed archers in the Hyundai Archery World Cup Ranking. Of the eight places in each of the four competition categories, one is reserved for an archer from the host nation of the season finale.

There is a maximum of two archers per nation permitted, with stage winners taking priority. In Olympic years, the individual winners of the Olympic Games are also invited as Olympic wildcards and these do no count towards the two-per-nation limit.