Mexico announces home country line-up for 2023 World Cup Final

Alejandra Valencia shoots in Tlaxcala in 2022.

Mexico has announced Olympic medallist Alejandra Valencia, World Games Champion Miguel Becerra, world number 12 Dafne Quintero and 19-year-old Matias Grande as its home nation representatives at the 2023 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final in Hermosillo.

One of the eight spots in each of the four championship competitions is traditionally reserved for the host country.

No Mexican archer qualified for the World Cup Final outright in 2023 – but the four archers selected finished highest in the circuit rankings. Quintero was closest, coming sixth in the compound women’s list and only one place away from a points invite.

Valencia, who won an historic silver medal for Mexico at the world championships this year, will likely draw the largest crowd at the season-ending event. Hermosillo is the 28-year-old world number eight’s hometown.

Thirty-two athletes qualify to compete at the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final each season: the winners of the four stages, three on ranking and one representing the host country. The winner of the event in 2023 will receive the Hyundai Archery World Cup trophy and a record 30,000 CHF in direct prize money.

Now at the end of its 17th season, the international circuit will visit Mexico for a fourth total – and second consecutive – grand final in Hermosillo. The event took place in Tlaxcala at the end of 2022, Mexico City in 2015 and Merida in the inaugural season, 2006.

Competition at the 2023 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final takes place on 9-10 September in Hermosillo, Mexico.

Mexico at Hermosillo 2023

Tracker: 2023 Hyundai Archery World Cup Final

Qualified Recurve men Recurve women Compound men Compound women
Stage winner (Antalya) Dan Olaru
MDA flag Moldova
Penny Healey
GBR flag Great Britain
Jozef Bosansky
SVK flag Slovakia
Jyothi Surekha Vennam
IND flag India
Stage winner (Shanghai) Marcus D’Almeida
BRA flag Brazil
Lim Sihyeon
KOR flag Korea
Prathamesh Samadhan Jawkar
IND flag India
Cho Su A
KOR flag Korea
Stage winner (Medellin) Mauro Nespoli
ITA flag Italy
- Abhishek Verma
IND flag  India
Liko Arreola
USA flag USA
Stage winner (Paris) Kim Woojin
KOR flag Korea
Casey Kaufhold
USA flag USA
- Ella Gibson
GBR flag Great Britain
Host country Matias Grande
MEX flag Mexico
Alejandra Valencia
MEX flag Mexico
Miguel Becerra
MEX flag Mexico
Dafne Quintero
MEX flag Mexico
Points Lee Woo Seok
KOR flag Korea
Kang Chae Young
KOR flag Korea
Mike Schloesser
NED flag Netherlands
Sara Lopez
COL flag Colombia
Points Brady Ellison
USA flag USA
Peng Chia-Mao
TPE flag Chinese Taipei
Mathias Fullerton
DEN flag Denmark
Tanja Gellenthien
DEN flag Denmark
Points Dhiraj Bommadevara
IND flag India
An Qixuan
CHN flag China
James Lutz
USA flag USA
Aditi Gopichand Swami
IND flag India
Points - Hai Ligan
CHN flag China
Sawyer Sullivan
USA flag USA
Member Associations