Schloesser, Lopez win Longines Prize for Precision in 2015

The prize for being the most precise archer over the year? An exclusive watch and a cheque for 5,000 CHF courtesy of World Archery’s timing and scoring provider, and title sponsor of the Prize for Precision, Longines.

Each year, the discipline eligible for the year-long Longines Prize for Precision switches. In 2015, it was the turn of compound athletes. Over the course of the year, the Netherlands Mike Schloesser and Sara Lopez, two-time Archery World Cup Champion from Colombia, shot the most 10s in competition.

Mike, nicknamed Mister Perfect since he recorded the first 600-point indoor qualification round at the Indoor Archery World Cup circuit in France in 2014/15, posted 437 10s through the four stages and Final of the 2015 Archery World Cup.

The count includes qualification and individual matches from the third round (last 32).

He had eight more 10s than the nearest challenger in the compound men’s Prize for Precision leaderboard, and collected most during the first two stages of the year – in Shanghai and Antalya – at both of which he finished with silver. His 129-total 10-count from Shanghai was the single highest event total of any athlete in 2015.

Sara Lopez, who won the Archery World Cup Final in 2014 and in Mexico City in 2015, shot 334 10s on the year, despite competing at only three of the four stages!

The rest of the compound women’s top five all competed at all four events on the circuit, but the closest athlete to Lopez in rankings was Linda Ochoa-Anderson, from Mexico, who totalled 320 10s in 2015. Sara won the first and fourth stages of the year, before collecting gold at the Final for a second year in a row.

Lopez was previously third in the Prize for Precision rankings in 2013, the year in which she won her first Archery World Cup stage gold medal and qualified for her first Final.

As well as the season-long awards, the Longines Prize for Precision introduced a stage prize in 2014. At each of the four events on the Archery World Cup circuit, the archer with the highest-number of 10s in one competition category is awarded a Longines watch.

The four winners in 2015 were Kang Chae Young  (recurve women, stage one – Shanghai), Mariia Vinogradova  (compound women, stage two – Antalya), Zach Garrett  (recurve men, stage three – Wroclaw) and Reo Wilde  (compound men, stage four – Medellin).