Schloesser extends Prize for Precision lead to 60-plus 10s

Mike Schloesser celebrates winning the second stage of the Hyundai Archery World Cup in 2021.

Mike Schloesser is now a near-lock to win the compound men’s Longines Prize for Precision at the end of 2021, having extended his lead in the ranking – which counts the total number of 10s shot in Hyundai Archery World Cup competition – to 66 after the second stage of the circuit in Lausanne.

Mister Perfect has made two finals at two events so far this season, collecting one silver and one gold medal, and topped qualifying at both. He has shot a total of 268 10s.

Schloesser has won the award once before, back in 2015. It looks likely, unless he misses Paris for some reason, that he will add the Longines Prize for Precision season award for a second time this year, especially if he continues to perform at the rate he has to open the season.

Tanja Gellenthien, who was also runner-up in Guatemala and gold medallist in Lausanne, leads the compound women’s list. She has shot a total of 203 10s so far this year, which is 40 more than her nearest competitor, Linda Ochoa-Anderson.

Qualification and matches in the third round and on at stages, plus arrows at the Hyundai Archery World Cup Final, are counted towards the season prize.

The stage prizes are no longer counted on the total number of 10s but on the percentage of 10s shot in competition.

Michelle Kroppen won the prize in Lausanne, having shot 45.6% of her arrows into the highest-scoring ring. The German archer topped qualifying for the first time in her career after shooting 675 points and was only eliminated in the quarterfinals.

She was closely followed by Elena Osipova, with 44%, who made the same phase of the competition.

Prize for Precision – Lausanne

The Longines Prize for Precision stage award in Lausanne was presented to the recurve woman with the highest 10-point percentage.

  1. Michelle Kroppen, Germany – 45.6%
  2. Elena Osipova, Russia – 44%
  3. Lisa Barbelin, France – 40.4%
  4. Valentina Vazquez, Mexico – 40.4%
  5. Alejandra Valencia, Mexico – 39%
  6. Ana Vazquez, Mexico – 39%